Your typical muni outing

I started riding muni a little over 5 months ago. I’ve watched videos but never seen anyone else ride muni “in person”. I’m curious what others’ experiences are like.

I try to get out to a local trail about about 3 times a week. Rides to date last anything from 35 minutes to an hour and 20 minutes. Most of the trails are relatively short loops ranging from 1 to 2 miles per circuit. I’ll typically do a lap, probably averaging 5-6 mph, then stop for a drink and to catch my breath before heading out for 1-3 more laps.

The terrain here is flat with lots of very short (3-6 feet of elevation change) steep climbs/descents. All this up and down punctuated by lots of roots keeps me breathing pretty hard for most of the lap. On the smoother sections I try to roll at high cadence.

The videos I see give the impression of extended high energy rides. What I’m doing is more like a cross between a session sport and medium duration ride.

I do see as my balance improves that I’m wasting less energy pushing hard on both pedals to stabilize myself. On a good night smoother stretches feel like efficient spinning on a road b*ke. Then an unseen root intervenes and it ends badly, though to be honest most often with me laughing out loud as I dust myself off and proclaim to passing mountain bikers “No worries, it happens every day”.

I’d really like to hear others experiences. Feel free to throw in any “Aha” moments that occurred and improved your riding or endurance.

Take care,

Brent

I have a couple of spots that are more cross country than muni but there are a few downhills and a few uphills. The downs are always reallly fun and the uphill are getting easier when I keep returning to them.
The uphills with roots and rocks are tricky but I find that if you carry some speed it’s a bit easier.

With regards to the legs and energy efficiency I find that if you lean forward really far then you just need to pedal a bit to stay over the wheel.