World Record Attempt - Unicyclists Towing Plane - Possible?

Hiya,

So after some discussions with a fundraiser for the RAF Association, we think it would be awesome if we could arrange for unicyclists to tow a plane or similar. While she looks in to seeing if it can be arranged, I want to find out if anyone thinks it is possible.

Following the previous ideas thread I believe it was Tholub who said it is possible. What opinions do the rest of you have on it? Any scientific evidence to prove it’s chances? How would it be done? (Sorry for all the questions, but I’m no scientist!!)

Also - (if it happens) Who’s in? (based on it being in London, some time this year)

Thanks!

Tholub did say my suggestion was possible and although he didn’t qualify it I’d now have to agree purely on the ‘why not’ basis. I’d suggest though seeing how many unicyclists it would take to tow a car/van or something and then ‘scaling up’ the numbers to a plane. Also contacting some other charities that have done the towing plane thing to see what was involved.

And if this does happen and the date is OK for me I’d be up for it.

I did some quick searching and found quite a few references to tug-o-war teams of 20 people pulling passenger jets (Boeing 727 I think). Assuming unicyclists couldn’t get as much purchase on the ground as a person on foot, and that not all of them will be big heavy rugby players, I’d guess you’d need something like twice as many, so in the region of 50.

Of course, it depends what plane is used - a little Cessna or something is quite easy to push around with one person on smooth ground. A fighter-type-thing is somewhere between the two extremes.