Will a 29”er go as fast as a 36”er

So am aware I am probable missing something really big but…here it goes.

The gear ratio of a 29”er with 127mm cracks is 5.8:1 ratio
The gear ratio of a 36”er with 152mm cranks is 6:1 ratio

So my big leap is with a rider pedaling at the same RPM on both unis on a flat smooth road wouldn’t the two go the same speed? I am aware that with smaller pedals come less control, but for speed on a flat road they should go the same speed right? :thinking:

Next example:
The gear ratio of a 26”er with 102mm cranks is 6.5:1 ratio
The gear ratio of a 29”er with 114mm cranks is 6.44:1 ratio
The gear ratio of a 36”er with 140mm cranks is 6.54:1 ratio

With all things being equal shouldn’t all 3 go about the same speed? I apologize if this is too simplified…please set me straight I am new to all this.
This line of thought came into my head because I wanted to see what my 26”er rode like with 197mm cranks and my answer was like a 20” wheel with 152mm cranks.

Thanks
Vince

36" has a larger diameter, therefore every revolution travels farther.

If you do the same amount of revolutions on a 29er and a 36er the 36er will go farther.

Numbers wise, cranks have nothing to do with speed.

Ok that I do understand, the 36" will roll further with each turn but with shorter cranks a rotation is quicker that is why when you put a shorter crank on any uni it you can go faster, as long as you can control the uni.

If you put a 170mm crank on a 36"er and raced a 29"er with 114mm crank and both people were equally fit and skilled uni riders the 29" uni rider would win right?

Vince

I like my 29er, cause I can ride flat or hills with 110mm cranks. The 110s make the amount of energy needed to keep momentum going minimal. My legs travel so little it really feel like I am ridding something unlike a uni.