Wilder MUnis

The Wilder frames look to me to be ideal for MUni; light weight, narrow profile etc, but I’ve heard some people really dislike the way they ride. Just what is it that people don’t like about them?

I’d like to know so that I know what to avoid when making a frame of my own. Are the problems serious? If anyone who owns a Wilder can describe any problems it will be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Re: Wilder MUnis

I consider the Wilder/Lyte Ryder frame to be ideal also. I have never heard anyone that owned one say they didn’t like the way they ride. I did hear one person on the forum who has never ridden one say he heard of “some people” disliking them because they are “too stiff”. For the life of me I can’t figure that one out.
I have been riding mine for 3 years, and I like them enough that I set up to do brake mount installations on them. Brake installation gallery
There have been a very few (only 3 I know of) instances of the crowns cracking from hard climbing, but the builder has long since beefed up the welds in the problem area. At only 1.45 pounds, it is on the edge of the strength/weight envelope but is very well designed.

Scott

I also have not heard any complaints about the Wilder frame. These may have trickled down brom the bicycling community, where there is a lot more experience with different frame materials.

All other things being equal, an aluminum frame is stiffer than a steel frame. This can be a minus on a bike because a bike frame can flex in multiple directions, robbing you of some of your control and handling. Other forms of flex are good, as they provide a light form of suspension.

A unicycle frame can only really flex one way, which is twisting to the left and right. In this area, less flex is best. Based on those assumptions, a unicycle frame can never be too stiff.