Why should I get new cranks?

I just bought a koxx spirit, the cranks are ISIS. I don’t know how high a quality they are, so I want to know:

Is there an advantage to replacing these cranks with something better before they bend?

None that I can think of, other than having new ones ready if/when they do. No waiting!

It mostly depends how much you weigh

Lighter cranks are better, until you break them. Likely won’t happen with ISIS cranks, unless you do lots of big drops, and or are a heavy person.
Assuming you are < 250 pounds and not crazy air, why not give them a go since you own them already? No harm in trying them.

You didn’t say which model you have. I am well over 200 pounds and I have TruVativ blaze crankset without any problem. But I would say, I do not do that many jumps, as I am not very good at them. But I do always mount on my unicycle with kick up, so I guess they would break so far if they were weak.

Well I guess you could look at it two ways:
1: Ride them till you break them, If you don’t break them you saved yourself the money!
or
2: Buy new (stronger) ones and sell your old ones, hopefully making back some of the money… but what if your original ones never broke?!

(or maybe a third option, buy new ones and keep the originals as spare parts in case you break the replacement ones, ah! :astonished: )

I’d go with #1, my 2c anyway.

the cranks that came with the spirit should be just fine. If you are worried about them breaking or bending you can get the KH moments. Plenty strong cranks, i use them as a hammer sometimes :wink:

A phrase comes to mind that would’ve saved me LOTS of headaches had I learned it earlier.

Repeat after me: “If it ain’t broken, don’t fix it!

Seems to me it’s best to use the shortest cranks you like to ride with. So if your not sure that your current cranks are right, it’s good to experiment with shorter cranks.

Tubular Chromoly 135mm street… mmmmm