Who needs a Handle Bar

I’m a year older than the Unigeezer and I am thrilled to get my first 36er, the Nightrider Pro. I read the threads on using the shadow handle. I tried all the positions and settled on the full extention angle up. It felt pretty comfortable like that, especially on longer (5-10 mile rides). Then I took it off and realized I rode much better, immediately. My style is to use my arms as counterweights, swinging to one side or the other on turns and manuvers. I can’t do it if I’m holding on to a frick’en handle bar. What am I missing? What does a handle bar do for you?

I’m still new at all this but I won’t go back to a 36er w/o a handlebar for longer rides. I use it to tilt the frame a bit forwards to have a balance between my arm/legs/butt. You can also “steer” in a manor of speaking, or at least help correct the position. I can only grab with one hand right now, the other one works as my counter weights but soon I shouldn’t need my flailing as much.
So to sum up, it lets you get more comfortable during a long haul.

I’ve used a handle on my 29-er. I found that after several weeks I became very reliant on it.

I also found it made the uni heavier and unwieldy when carried, plus, I didn’t really like the way it looked, waving around in front all the time.

So I stopped using it and prefer to ride without now.

I only use my arms as counterweights when it’s necessary, and, even try to avoid using the seat handle unles it’s on rough/ultra steep ground.

I think riding without a handle is just a different style of unicycling, and I prefer it.

I keep putting mine on… then realising I dont like it and take it back off again :slight_smile:

So you don’t like brakes or handlebars.