Who knows about UNICON

So, I’m thinking about going to a couple of days worth of UNICON, but I have a few questions.

First, I still consider myself very beginner. I’ve been doing very low impact MUni every weekend since I got my new MUni (about a month ago), but I’m still learning pretty slow. As far as tricks, I can barely bunny hop, and I’m still screwing up my mount 1/3 of the time. I can’t even idle or ride backwards yet (although, I expect that to change in the next few weeks, I’m getting much better).

So does UNICON offer anything for a beginner/slow learner? I think just playing around with real live unicyclists will help me out a lot. What I’m worried about, though, is may ability to participate in any of the activities, or the possibility that I might screw things up for other people because I’m just standing there trying to mount while a game is going on.

Then there looks like there is a big MUni ride every day starting sunday. I’d love to see how the big boys play, and I’d like to do some MUni riding, but I don’t want to just get left in the dust. Plus, can I participate in stuff like this without registering as a competitor?

I guess what I need to know is, can I play and watch people without any trouble, or should I wait til next year when I’m better.

Also, I could only really go for four days, is that a problem?

Finally, between UNICON and NAUCC, it looks like UNICON is what I would want, right?

Nbrazzi,

If you can go, DEFINITELY GO. I want to go, but I am just too afraid to commit financially, since the hotel costs would kill me and I may or may not be laid off next week. :slight_smile:

My personal opinion is that the less you know, the MORE you will benefit from other people. You are going to meet plenty of beginners. You are going to meet people who can show you how to fix your rides, or give you insight into how to improve, etc. You will get to go on fun rides, and see what it is all about.