Which 24" to buy?

Hi all.

I have been riding a cheap 20" freestyle for a couple of months now and I have made a lot (i.e. I can ride it - nothing fancy) of progress.
I do like “exploring” the local environment, nothing hetic yet, just the little slopes and the odd bit of rough ground, but the taste to go further is definitely there.

The 20" is not really up to the task as I feel the wheel is a bit too small for the terrain that I like to ride over and I am also still about 20kg overweight.

I would like to get a 24" muni/trails with (probably) 150mm cranks (I am 5’7" tall with a 29"-30" inside leg)

What would you recommend? I was thinking about splashing out on a KH, but is this overkill for my ability and could I make do with something a bit cheaper?

Thanks in advance,

Hooked

Hey Captain,

I am right there with you, I went from a cheap 24" that my wife bought me for my birthday a year ago to a KH 24 Freeride that I bought for my birthday this year. She bought my first uni as a joke, I am completely addicted now!

The new ride instantly made me a better rider, the wider tire and stoutness (is that a word?) gives you all kinds of stability and confidence. The day it arrived I rode down a hill in my yard that I never even imagined trying before.

It sounds like you enjoy the same kind of terrain as I do, I ride on old railroad track beds that are now 4 wheeler and snowmobile trails. Relatively flat but rough and muddy. Small drops and steep hills are what I am working on now. I bought a brake after riding at a ski resort, I did well but a brake would have been a huge help.

So I would advise buying the best you can afford and let your ability grow into it. My KH feels so sturdy, as if I have the balls to try something, that muni will be able to handle it, the blue is cool too. I am about your size too, I had to cut the seat post way down, but now it fits really well. Buy a brake on ebay as opposed to unicycle.com, you’ll save around $100.

briguymaine,