wheelbuilding for the first time

i’ve never built a wheel from scratch before, but it’s a skill i know is really good to have. my brother has built wheels from when he used to bmx, but he also wrecks a lot of stuff (i know that doesn’t sound good!!).

but seriously, i would like to have built my own wheel and be able to do my own truing if needed.

only thing holding me back at the moment is being frightened about messing up and losing loads of time and money.

so i guess the question this post poses is: is it recommended to just try to build a wheel by yourself with no supervision, just going by manuals, online tutorials and general advice when doing so for the first time?

Thats what I did.

I did a 48 spoke, 4-cross pattern for my DX. I didnt follow Sheldon Browns manual, cause it confused em a little, so I found another guide that was much more simplistic, and had great pictures.

It didnt take me too long to do, and tensioning/trueing the rim wasnt too hard either.

More than anything, its just a tedious thing to do, but if youre patient, and have a bit of time to sita round, its fun to do, and its worth it to learn.

In fact, i need to true my coker wheel again. Muni on a old steel rim, and a standard skinny hub doesnt work too well.

Hey mate,

Right, my advice is practice. If you are unsure that you are going to get it right first time, use old components for your first build. Having said that however, it is difficult to actually ruin anything, at worst you will have to undo it all and start again. I have done that before, the annoying thing about wheelbuilding is you rarely notice you’ve gone wrong till the end :angry: