What tire do you find best for the Coker...

I am considering purchasing the big one, even though I probably wouldn’t be good enough to ride for awhile, but I found one at a decent price and hate to pass it up. :smiley:

Options for the tire are the original button tread tire, ribbed SLR street tread or the non skid muni off road tire. What do you guys recommend? I’m a novice and have no clue but leaning toward the Muni tire even though most of my riding would probably be on pretty level ground or pavement.

Second question, is can I add the handlebar later? I wouldn’t want one right away, just because I wouldn’t want it in the way while trying to initially ride the Coker and learning to mount it.

I know I’m way premature considering a Coker, but I’m just considering it, I haven’t purchased it yet. :thinking: , but really want to, :D:D

Thanks for any suggestions.

1. I think the button tread is your best bet, although if you know you won’t be taking it off road ever and will be racking up pavement miles, the ribbed tire could be better. There was a review of 36" tires in UNI a few months back and they basically had the same opinion.

2. Handlebars can (and should) be added later, after you gain some proficiency on the Coker. They can get in the way of mounting (for some people. . .) and get really busted if you drop them a lot, just learning the Coker.

3. If you have the coin and it’s a good deal: buy it! I love my 36.

Also its in UNI Magizine issue 8 that the Origonal Coker Button Thread, Nimbus Nightrider and Wheel TA, Coker Anti Skid tyres are reviewed/ compared. The Coker Anti Skid is quiet noisy on road aparently.

Thanks Peripatet, I appreciate your help. Oh the Cokers look so fun, I will probably kill myself but what a way to go!
I think the price is pretty decent at least from looking around, $389.00 plus shipping which is about $58 to my house. Does that sound reasonable?

Ok thanks.

Nimbus Nightrider

I have the Nimbus Nightrider tire and it’s great.