What size cranks for a 36"

What size cranks would you select for a 36"? 127/150 or 137/165. It is flat where I live. I’m also pretty new to unicycling. The 127/150 are standard, but I have been reading about others using 165.

I live on flat ground. I got my Coker with 150’s and 127’s. I rode with 150’s for a bit and went to 170’s. The big wheel was heavy enough to me the 150’s weren’t enough. I rode for a couple weeks with 170’s then dropped back to 150’s as I got used to it and now thinking of going to the 127’s. For me getting used to the 36’s weight/mass was the issue and short cranks just increased the learning curve.

I consistently return to 150s. I have ridden shorter, but have found no advantage, and some disadvantages over a long ride. 150s give me torque and control. I’d rather spin 150s fast on the flat than struggle up or down hill on 125s.

I think people tend to go shorter overtime. I’ve leveled out at 114s. If you have a flatter area I’d go with the shorter set.

137 / 110

137 / 110 is great … you can still spin 137 reasonably quick but you can still tackle some good hills … then the 110’s for the flat is awesome :slight_smile:

When I bought my 36er before 9 month I started with 145mm. A half year later I thought it was time to get shorter ones. But instead of that I bought a geared 29er and use the 36er for comfortable rides now.
It is flat here and the 36er ist furtheron my favorite bike for long runs.

Are they that similar?

Nightrider, I like your kind of thinking. Instead of buying shorter cranks for your 36 you bought a Schlumpf for your 29. You know… sooner or later you’re going to need to put that hub on your 36, right?

It’s the curse of unicycling, enough is never enough.