What is the most important thing to know when learning to IDLE?

I have been unicycling for about 8 months. I can go down stairs, hop up a curb, ride for miles etc, mount from both sides… but I can not idle!

Honestly, I haven’t spent a lot of time practicing, but I would say at least 5 hours intermitantly. I have moments were I can go 8-10 idles just before tipping over. I really want to get this skill down, and soon.

So, how many hours of practice should I expect to spend before I can idle? It’s Monday, could I do it by Saturday?

If you had any advice, what would you say was the single most helpful thing when learning how to idle?

I have read all previous posts on this, but I must be thick, I am just not getting it. Or maybe I’m not and everyone struggles learning this skill. I always think that now that I can ride, new skills should come easier. That is easier than they are coming to me.

In my experience idling is not a skill that you learn once it “clicks”. It is a gradual process of trial and error and accumulated experience and conditioning. I have been riding for about 5 years now and while I can idle, I am still shaky and inconsistent. I put enough practice into it to be able to do it, but not to be solid with it.

The more you practice the quicker you’ll learn, but it will still require patience. And I’d say that idling is one of the foundations for many more advanced trickery, so it is worth the effort.

I find it to be extremely boring, unfortunately, but need it in order to be able to accomplish some of the other tricks I’d like to be able to execute.

Most here will agree that it is an important skill and one that you ought to put the effort into. Don’t expect miracles by Saturday, but stick with it and you’ll get it.

Good luck,
Raphael Lasar
Matawan, NJ

Chad-

Keep your weight on the seat. I expect to see a video of you idling by tonight. I know you still have that camera.