What is more fun, 24 or 29?

Hey, I’m kind of new to trials and street, but I think it’s really fun. I also want to try MUNI.
What will be the funniest thing for me? 24" or 29" when i ride in the woods?
I guess that 29" goes a lot faster, but how much faster, is it harder to ride?
Please help me out :smiley:

Thanks a lot!

depends on the terrain you have, if it’s fairly smoothe fast flowing woodland trails the 29 will be much better, a real blast. If you have highly technical terrain availble then a 24 would be better.

Thanks… It’s like good paths, you can ride a normal bicycle there without a problem, so I guess I’ll save up for a 29" :smiley:

Sounds like the 29er is the best choice for the trails you intend to ride.

A 29er can go fast enough that you can get a fun swooping feeling when hitting swoopy turns. That’s a feeling that is difficult to get on a 24x3 muni due to speed and the extra weight of the wheel. A 29er can turn a trail that is somewhat boring on a 24x3 into something swoopy and fun.

A 29er isn’t difficult to ride or mount as long as you have reasonable cranks to start with. Not much different than riding a 24 or 26 with a XC MTB tire.

A 29er only gets to be significantly different when you start putting shorter and shorter cranks on it. Then the ride feel changes, mounting changes a bit, and hills change a bit. 150mm cranks to start with, 125mm after some experience and depending on your riding style, then even shorter if you find you like that.

…or longer.

A 45’ giraffe w/ a 36" wheel. :stuck_out_tongue:

But seriously, a 29" does sound like a good match. I also think starting w/ long cranks, like 170’s would be good and then going smaller. W/ longer cranks hills will be much more doable and increase control on technical trails and more tires are becoming available (like the Panaracer Rampage 29X2.35) to make rough Muni on a 29 more doable.