What crank sizes do you ride on your 36ers?

Hey everyone, just a quick question. What crank size do you use for your 36" unicycles? Just put 137’s on today after riding my first week on my 36" with 150’s. I really wanna get down to smaller cranks, as I ride 114’s on my 29". What are the pros and cons ? :slight_smile: :roll_eyes:

I’m not very experienced with 36er. But I recently had to replace my cranks, so I changed from 125mm to 150mm. I have a LOT of control with the 125s, and light muni has been a blast. If I were riding a lot of road, I would definitely change over to 125mm and learn to ride them efficiently. Some 36er masters go as low as 110mm.

As with any crank choice on any size uni, longer crank = more leverage, and easier control. But it also is more strenuous to pedal fast. Shorter cranks are easier to spin faster, but when you need the leverage (muni, upphills, downhills) it can be a lot harder on yourself with less leverage. Of course brakes can solve the downhill problem.

I’m sure there are a million posts here on 36ers and crank length. Do a search.

That being said, I have 127/150 dual hole Spirits. I almost never, ever use the 150s. I don’t do much muni on it, though I do go a bit off-road on occasion and still don’t find much use for the 150s.

It may be useful for when you have to dismount and mount a lot since longer cranks make mounting the 36 easier, but with some practice I freemounted the 127s easy enough, with probably a 90-95% success rate and they are so much smoother and faster that I can’t see using the 150s unless I was really going up some very steep hills.

I have KH Spirit 137/110 dual hole. For the longest time I was using 150s, but I gradually went down to the 110s. I’m still able to do a lot of hills with the 110s. I don’t carry a pedal wrench with me and honestly really don’t like to, nor do I feel the need, to change to the 137s. The 110s are a really good overall crank length for me. I only do street riding.