Wanted: Older uni parts

I am a PE teacher with some old Savages that are in rough shape. I am looking for 16" and 20" Savage frames that are not cracked. I am also willing to pick up some cranks and seats if they are within a PE teacher’s budget. We have 43 unis, but only 34 are usable at this time. I would like to Frankenstein some together before our school parade in the first week of December 2007.

Can’t help imagining a line of fat wrinkly blokes in loincloths and bones through their noses doing pressups…

Sorry - good luck finding the parts you want :slight_smile:

Rob

if the school can afford it get some torkers. they are relativly cheap and can take a serious beating. Just a suggestion. Hope it helps

what size/what kind of bearing do they have
the must be steel weld them up

The unis are 16 inch and 20 inch Savages and Zephyrs. I think they are too cheap to get a good weld on them. The hub is not like the Torker hub. I am not sure what the technical name is for them. Eventually these will just be parted out until they exist no more. I have already bought a few 16" and 20" Torkers and a few 12" Suns. I did come across a phone number for The Unicycle Factory that sounds promising.

George, if you do happen to need any welding, I’m on the east side of Seattle and have an inverter welder that can handle just about any material.
Pete

I just had a welder look at them and he says the material is too thin and the heating would actually make it weaker. Thanks for the offer though. Its probably just time to phase the Savages and Zephyrs out with Torkers and keep piecing them together like Frankenstein until there are no more parts to replace. I should look into a school grant or something for some funding.

yeah, do that. the school close to where i live jsut filled out a grant, and if your program has already started, i’m sure that you will have good luck with that.