Wallis DG handle - anyone added any foam?

Hi,

I have been riding with my Wallis Design DG handle since they came out and I love the handle. Recently, I started riding every other day on really rocky and steep terrain. I am now getting a pain near the two leftmost knuckles on my left hand. I grip with my left hand.

I was wondering if anyone else has had a similar issue and if they added some foam to the handle to make it work without the discomfort. If so, where did you add it and what type of foam did you use?

For me it may be just a technique issue, which I need to look at as well. I have a habit of pulling up hard on the handle when descending steep rocky sections.

Cheers.

…then stop pulling so hard!

I agree that pulling up on the handle can help through technical sections of terrain, but there’s no need to apply an extended force to your handle. Every time you torque on the handle, remain conscious of that grip, and try to find your earliest opportunity to let go.

Try and break your habit by reminding yourself to relax as much as possible throughout your ride… everything from your arms and legs to your face and neck… it’ll conserve your energy, prevent injury and help you keep your balance.

I vaguely recall a Chinese saying: “while the rigid wood breaks, only the flexible blade of grass survives the storm”. If you keep your body stiff, you won’t be able to absorb the bumps and drops of technical muni.

Relax and the riding should get easier.

Sorry, I didn’t address your topic :stuck_out_tongue:

Not really sure if the foam would help all that much. Do you wear gloves? You may want to try a good pair of gloves to see if that makes a difference before you go crazy with glue and foam.

It could also be a strength/practice issue. My hand used to hurt after an hour or so of practicing bunny hops. It stopped hurting after a week or so of practice. I think my hand just got used to it.