Uppermidwest/Minnesota Winter

I plan on riding through the winter for the first time, commuting 15-20 miles total each day in Saint Paul. I have a standard Coker, but mostly set up for nice weather.

Advice needed on the following: equipment to think about, clothing to think about, safety stategies (even if simple and obvious), unique things about different road conditions, funny or scary real life stories, how you deal with keeping a wet/salty cycle at your place of work.

Anyone local to metro twin cities - you are welcome to send a private message. Would be nice to connect with others.

BT

I’m a graduate student at the U and live in S MPLS. I got my first uni (26" Nimbus Muni) last January, and commuted on it through the rest of the winter, even though I was a brand new rider. Surprisingly, I felt more comfortable on my unicycle than on my fixed gear bike. The combination of a 3" wide tire, having your weight directly over the point of contact, and not having a front wheel to slip on ice or in slush makes unicycling in the winter quite safe. I found that I was much warmer on my uni than on my bike, both because there was less wind chill (lower speeds) and I was working significantly harder. I wore tights and a long-sleeved jersey, thin windproof pant and jacket shells, some wool socks, decent mittens, and a helmet with built-in earmuffs. On my bike I usually wear a balaclava as well, but it’s often not necessary on the uni, unless it’s below -10 F out. I’m not sure where you ride in St Paul, but I use a route that takes me past as few cars as possible (Greenway, Hiawatha Trail, etc) in the winter to be safe. Hope it goes well. You’ll certainly get some interesting looks!