Up the creak!

My Onza is once again creaking. :frowning: It’s most noticable if I turn the uni upside down and spin the wheel really slowly. It’s less noticable when I’m actually riding, and becomes progressively quieter the faster I’m riding.

Anyway, this is unlike creaks I have previously diagnosed. I guess it can’t really be the pedals or spokes, because it still happens when the wheel is being spun off the group (i.e. no force on the spokes and the pedals stationary).

That leaves the bearings, right? It definately sounds like it’s coming from the left bearing holder. Or is there something else it could be? I took off the bearing holders and had a look. Small amount of corrosion on the bearings but nothing too serious looking. (Although I’m not really experienced enough to know - perhaps there shouldn’t be ANY corrosion.) Put it all back together and the creak went for a day, then came back.

The noise is a sort of squeaky-door sound.

Apologies if this has been asked before. I did have a search but didn’t find anything too useful… the web really needs a comprehensive uni-maintenance guide.

Any help much appreciated.

Jynx

off the group = off the ground
:slight_smile:

Re: Up the creak!

Jynx,

I would certainly check the crank first. As with most splined hubs the bolt
on the end of the hub seams to work loose with time and it then creaks
(movement is not normally noticed). Get an 8mm allan key and tighten it
really tight! This will almost certainly get rid of the creak. It is as
with all noises associated with unicycles, get them sorted sooner rather
than later because if it is making a noise something is wrong and generally
will get worse.

Roger

The UK’s Unicycle Source

----- Original Message -----
From: “jynxzero” <jynxzero.l9fso@timelimit.unicyclist.com>
Newsgroups: rec.sport.unicycling
To: <rsu@unicycling.org>
Sent: Wednesday, April 02, 2003 2:23 PM
Subject: Up the creak!

>