Untrue wheel help!

Ok so it turns out hopping alot on a Monty Wheelset can eventually make the wheel not so true. Right now when I spin the wheel I can see that ist about 1/8" un ture. This did not used to be the case. Also it now creeks when somone heavier than myself rides it.

Now I am a poor college student and I would like to try fixing this on my won vr going to the bike shop every few months and paying them all my food money so I can ride.

I have looked at http://www.sheldonbrown.com/wheelbuild.html for how to true a wheel. It seems rather confusing at first glance.

I have no tools for turing my own wheel. is there anyway I can do it without buying a stand? like spinning the wheel on my frame upside down? Also what other tools are really necisarry besides a spoke wrench.

Chex

Chex,

I use very high tech instruments… a ruler and a crayon. I have to concur with a previous poster that it’s best if the tire and cranks are removed, the wheel spins more accurately that way. Then, with the uni upside down, I hold the crayon against the fork, spin the wheel and gently move the crayon toward the rim until it makes contact. The mark will show me where the wobble is. Then, it’s a matter of either tightening the spokes on one side or loosening them on the other side. I usually go 1/4 turn for the spokes at the very ends of the crayon mark and up to a half turn adjustment for spokes in the middle of the crayon mark.

Remember lefty-loosey and righty-tighty, but be careful when working from inside the rim. You’ll be working from the backside of the clock so to speak.

For most applications though, I don’t know that I would worry about 1/8" out of true unless you have a precise braking system installed or have a series of very loose spokes as Nathan an I have found on our Coker Deluxe unis.

Bruce