Unicycling shoes

What kind of shoes are best for unicycling?

From my experience (I am still learning), I think it would be one that would allow for circular motion on the pedals (to correct incorrect placement of the feet on the pedals). This too would require pedals that allow for the feet to move (i.e. ones that do not come with a rough surface).

Are my conclusions correct? What type of shoes should I try? Any specific recommendations? Please mention type as well as brands (i.e. running shoes, tennis shoes, etc. or specific models such as Adidas, Puma, etc)

Also, is it helpful to wear the same shoe every time I ride?

Shoes and pedals have a lot to do with personal preference. There are quite a few threads on people’s favorite shoes for uni.

I mainly ride off road and like shoes with a stiffer sole that also grip into the steel pins on the pedal. But you’ll see guys who do lots of extreme urban riding and tricks wearing sneaker style, soft soled shoes. Regardless of what shoe/pedal combination you use, learning to reposition your feet on the pedals while riding is an important skill and something to practice.

While you’re learning to ride a unicycle, yes I think wearing the same shoes (provided they are suitable of course) helps - it’s one less variable to deal with. I’d suggest something with a soft flexible sole so you can feel more of what is going on while learning.

My uni shoes are an old pair of running shoes. They’re not ideal but they have lots of cushion for when I need to jump off and the treads are fairly worn so that I am able to move my feet if I need to. They do however have this horrible plastic arch in the middle that doesn’t get any grip on the pedals. and they don’t afford any ankle protection.