Unicycling - Just when you achieve something...

I’m new to both this form and unicycling (I have a Nimbus 24" MUni). I have been browsing around for a few days and have learned a lot!

This weekend I managed to ride unsupported until I ran out of tarmac (I was practicing on a school yard). This was when I realized that I needed to learn how to turn! Also I need to learn how to free-mount as walking to a suitable support is getting old.

Kind of feels like one step forward and two back!

I will say this - riding on tarmac is SO MUCH easier than grass. I was running out of back yard (approx. 50’ before I had to try to turn) so went to the school yard and what a difference - I was riding 150’+.

Started practicing free-mounting this morning (on grass) and managed a couple - great tips from a You Tube video by duckaxe (thx duckaxe). I also managed to whack my shin and leave several pin holes in it - Oh the joys of learning.

That’s all for now.

Cheers

Simon

Welcome to the forum Scoope! May your days of riding be as free of pedalbite as possible :). Your interested in learning to muni? Or was that the only unicycle available?

Charm

Hi.

Confucius said, “For everyone ahead of you, there is someone behind you.” On another occasion, he may well have said, “For everyone behind you, there is someone ahead of you.”

The point being, however good you get, you’re only half way there!:slight_smile:

3 pedal strokes, 10 pedal strokes, to the end of the driveway, to the end of the driveway three times in a row… round the first corner, across that bit of grass… the first freemount… freemounting 50% of the time… freemounting with either foot… idling… idling with the other foot… or one footed… backwards… the first kilometer or mile ride… the first one without a UPD… the first hour long ride… the first without a UPD… the first time over that bridge, or up that hill… the first entire day’s riding without a UPD…