Unicycling for Rehab?

I am recovering form a back surgery. I am thinking of incorporating unicycling into my rehab. I think that unicycling would not only provide good cardio, but build core muscle strength better than bicycling. I have ridden 20" unicycles before, and I am certain that I could get on one again right now and ride. I am thinking of getting a 36" for cruising and conditioning. I don’t plan on doing stunts, and I am not planning on falling alot? Any input/feedback would be appreciated.

i’d say as long as you are far enough along in riding that you won’t crash or are far enough along in your recovery that a crash won’t hurt you, then go for it. it beats a bike any day.

As much as I like unicycling, I would advise against it. I’m no doctor or anything, but I think it would be too easy for something to happen to re-injure the back. There are so many micro balance adjustments that happen while you ride that would probably be ok, but every now and then there are those big quick emergency adjustments that need to be made that could easily hurt your back again - and it only takes one. I would recommend waiting until you are fully recovered before riding a unicycle.

+1

I think that a smaller unicycle like a 20" would work quite well but would stay away from 36ers till you are healed. You do less twisting and adjusting with a 36 because of the stability of the massive wheel but you fall a whole lot harder (both higher and faster).

I think a small unicycle could be quite effective rehab and relatively safe but a big wheel would not help you as much and be more dangerous.

I agree with the S guy. I have not had back surgery but a bad back. I ride a 36 and that kicks my butt. I think you would do great with with a 26" torker or something like that. You can get a good work out at 4 miles with that size wheel. You are also right about it being a great core exercise. Stay away from the 36 until you are healed fully or at least conditioned real well.