Unicycler's Profesions and origins

I’ve seen mentioned in a couple places (who’s sources I now forget) that unicycling tends to draw people from technical fields. So I now beg the question: What profesions are represented by the unicyclists here, and how/why did you get into the sport of uni?

Personally, I’m an English Major, Computer Science Minor (Former Major, but to quote Malibu Stacy, “Math Is Hard”). The only other uni-er I know is a Physics Major. I found a uni at the garbage transfer station, learned to ride a bit, and eventually got pretty, well, obsessed :wink: I’m interested in Muni (I learned on a gravel driveway/dirt road in New Hampshire) and Trials/Street. How’s about you all?

Re: Unicycler’s Profesions and origins

I am an IT Engineer, I have a degree in Geography with concentrations in GIS(geographic information systems) and Town Planning. My older brother calls me the American Kris Holm b/c Kris is also in Geog. School and we both share the same birth date…now if only I could uni as good as Kris. :wink:

I crossed over into unicycling from mountain biking. I spend 90% of my time on one wheel mainly mountain unicycling but also enjoy urban riding, freestyle, and I am also trying to improve my trials skills. I am trying to stay well rounded but the trail is where I’m really at one with the wheel.

My brother, who does not frequent this forum is a Guitar Instructor and an advert/song writer. He got into uni right after I learned to ride…it looked like too much fun for him to pass up. He rides 100% urban, he only owns a Torker Stealth 20" but I am slowly persuading him into getting a mUni!

Re: Re: Unicycler’s Profesions and origins

Then make sure your spokes are tight so you don’t taco your wheel! :smiley:
I’m a non-techical person. Science hurts the brain.