Unicycle weight?

Seems I read a lot here about the concern with the weight of a unicycle. What is the advantage of a few less pounds? Say if you have a 36" and it is a pound or two heavier than the other? Or a muni?

Thanks

I used to be a total weight weenie when it came to my MTB from more of a what was achievable rather than from a performance benefit perspective.

The best place to lose weight on a Uni (or bike) is the wheels as rotational weight has to be accelerated so the heavier the wheel the more energy is required, a light wheel will accelerate noticeably faster and easier.

Weight saved on the non rotational part is not as important because unless you are a professional rider and have no excess body fat you will always be better losing a few pounds off yourself which is also far cheaper (I have lost almost half my Uni’s weight since I started riding a month ago!).

A lighter Uni (bike) will be easier to move about by a small margin but there is always a trade off, all the riders weight and force is going through one wheel and one fork unlike a bike so it needs to be very strong which comes at a price in weight (unless you spend lots), by going light you may have a thinner walled tyre so get more punches, lighter cranks that may bend etc

If you can find a lighter tyre and inner tube that will still meet your needs and the trails you ride then go as light as you can, everything else is just bragging rights (says some one with a 16lb front suspension MTB :p)

I am well over my weight issues now and love my Duro 24x3" tyre which is almost twice as heavy as BOTH my mtb tyres :stuck_out_tongue: I am looking at swapping to a Large Marge rim which will add a pound in the worst place lol

On a 36 the only thing I would worry about lightening would be the wheel. Basically get a Foss or 29er tube and you are good to go. A lighter wheel will make the unicycle more nimble, easier to accelerate, slow down etc.