Unicycle Upgrade Recommendation

Hi! I consider myself a beginner to intermediate cyclist. I’ve been learning how to ride since Winter 2012; unfortunately I did not ride quiet often. In just the past month I’ve been riding a lot and gaining more experience. I was given a very generic 20" $30 unicycle off of ebay [which served me well in telling me whether or not Id stick with this] and I wanted to ask for recommendations on what type of unicycle I could better grow into and have for a longer period of time. I do plan on doing more technical things with the uni, but for the time being it would be for daily riding around campus and technical practice on weekends. Thanks for the input!

Welcome to the forum.

If you look on the upper-right side of your screen, you’ll see a search box. There’s more information and recommendations there than you could shake a stick at.

My .02:

Figure out what discipline you want to do right now. I don’t know what you mean by technical. Muni, trials, street, freestyle, flatland?

For campus riding, 29er’d be a good size to look at. If you’re looking for an all around wheel size, 26 is what I’d go with. It’s not great at anything, but will do everything.

I like Nimbus. If you’re a caviar enthusiast, get a Triton.

A 26 “wont do” flat or freestyle nor trials unless you are kris holm. If you want to jump off of things and do “tricks” on asphalt get a 19" trials. If you want to ride to get somewhere around campus get a 29. If you want to do muni get a 24 or 26" muni. If you want to ride lomger distances and or keep up with casual bicyclists get a 36.

Figure out what your primary focus will be and get a good quality machine for that purpose. Those of us into unicycling will own at least 2 different unis. Good luck and welcome.

The only wheelsize I would recommend for a single do-all uni is 26". The only things you can’t do on one is basketball/racing unless your rim will fit a 1.125" tire. But that is just because of the rules.