Unicycle Unstable after Tube Replacement...?

Hi all,

I’m sorry I only seem to find time for this forum these days when I have a problem. (Don’t feel bad, it’s not just you!). As you may know I’m approaching half-way on a 5,000km road trip across Canada on a 29" w/ custom aluminum cases (unityfortheclimate.ca).

So, while I’m pretty new to unicycling (and in many regards, it shows) I’ve done gravel, slush, cross-winds, headwinds and all manner of hills and generally was feeling pretty comfortable…until today.

I replaced a flat tube and now I can’t seem to ride more than a few meters. I’m extra wobbly and the uni feels ‘skittish’ and unstable. Even straight lines are a problem. I basically had to walk all day.

The wheel looks straight and isn’t rubbing on the brakes (tried re-mounting it twice just in case). I checked the spokes and made some adjustments and they seem to have even tension. I also tried reversing and rotating the tire. Anything I might be overlooking?

The tire tread looks somewhat uneven along the circumference (ie., more warn on the left than right). It’s possible the wheel wasn’t perfectly straight before and now the tire is putting the uni at a slight slant. However, I wouldn’t expect it to be such a dramatic problem, and changes in PSI don’t make much of a difference either. I also tried sanding/cutting down the uneven knobbies and it didn’t have the effect I was hoping for.

I’m going to get a new tire tomorrrow and maybe a sanity-check at a bike shop, but since I’m in small-town Saskatchewan it will take a full day including rides to/from. And I’m unlikely to find anyone who knows unis. So, I want to make the most of my time there and eliminate any other potential culprits. IE., is there an easy way to check the rim or frame? Anyone experience something similar? Any good uni mechanics in Regina?

Thanks for any help!

I’m not an expert, but I have a couple questions.