Unicycle Seat Questions

I have been riding the unicycle for a couple years now and more recently I have been attempting longer trips. I have always found the seat to be extraordinarily uncomfortable, but I assumed it was just part of riding the unicycle. I am beginning to find out that there are ways to make it more comfortable. I know I could get a gel seat, an air seat, or touring handles, but I am not sure which type of solution is most effective. The unicycle I am currently using is an avenir 20 inch mountain bike unicycle. Does anyone have any suggestions or opinions regarding this? Thanks in advanced for any responses.

There are a couple things you can do to make longer rides more comfortable. First I would suggest getting a unicycle with a bigger wheel. When I first learned (on an inexpensive 20"), it was misery trying to make it to the 1 mile mark. When I got there, I bought a used Nimbus 26" from another forum member on the Trading Post. My distance went to 5 miles almost overnight.

A better quality saddle will make a big difference. Which one to get is up to the individual rider, it’s very subjective. Personally, I like the KH saddles, and I find that they are much more comfortable when they have been “flattened.” (Use the search feature to see much discussion on flattened saddles.) The two unis I ride most now (muni and road) have flattened saddles (do-it-yourself flattening jobs).

Good luck!

Thanks for your response! I will definitely look into getting a new unicycle as I have had this one for quite a while now.

Yeah, the Nimbus 26 is a fairly nice unicycle - just did 12 miles on mine, while a month ago my legs were screaming trying to do two laps of the office on a 20.

That said, if I’d waited a little longer I might have talked myself into a 29, which I now kind of wish I had gotten instead.

But finding the right seat is still on my to-do list - have to take a day or two off after multi-mile rides.