Unicycle hour record

Just flicking through the 2005 Guinness Book.

Apparently the hour record is set at 10.65km by Dieter Dollig of Germany in 1998.

What wheel size/cranks was this done on? If it was a std 24" with 125mm cranks that doesn’t sound very fast- given the 10km UNICON std class was won in well under 30mins.

Is this just an outdated record and isn’t it about time someone changed it?

I think that has to be a mistake - I’m a relative novice and I reckon I could probably beat that on a flat road. I sometimes ride my 26" to work, about 10 miles offroad, and it takes me about 1 1/2 hours. That would be about 6 1/2 mph average, or something like 9 3/4 km/h. I can’t believe I could get that close to the “world record” on a casual offroad ride to work. There are people who post on this group who ride way faster than that over long distances on cokers.

So, I reckon that’s either a misprint or, as you say, it seriously needs updating!

Re: Unicycle hour record

Yes, this is a silly statement indeed. This Dieter Dollig is totally unknown to me, and Google turns up nothing either.

The highest hour distance I know of is of Ken Fuchs, who rode 15.59 miles in 1:01:46 on 5 Sep 2003, that is an average of 15.14 miles per hour, or 24.37 km per hour. He did this on a Coker with 125 mm cranks. Doing 25 km in under an hour is a standing challenge in the unicycling community - I think no-one has achieved it yet.

Klaas Bil

On Tue, 2 Nov 2004 08:24:57 -0600, “Klaas Bil”
<Klaas.Bil@NoEmail.Message.Poster.at.Unicyclist.com> wrote:

>Doing 25 km in under an hour is a standing challenge in the unicycling
>community - I think no-one has achieved it yet.

>Klaas Bil

Hi Klaas!

I have done it with my geared up unicycle (1.58*28"=44.333"). At the
2003 Guetersloh Skate Marathon (‘City Classics’) I rode the 42.195km
in 1:41:15 which is an average speed of 25.004 kmph. So there must
have been an hour of riding with more than 25km distance.

Frank

Re: Re: Unicycle hour record