Uncomfortable seats

I am new to unicycling, I use my brother’s schwinn. It’s just a standard 20", regular seat. It’s the older one with the whitewall tires. I’m finding it VERY uncomfortable. So…with a female in mind…how can I remedy the problem???
Or…is it that in time my muscles will develope enough to put more pressure on my legs?

Bonnie

The best seat, I think, is a Kris Holm seat. Theyre 48 dollars, but will last relatively long and theyre very comfortable. Go to www.unicyclist.com

Hi Bonnie
As a fellow female I can recommend that you invest in a good comfortable seat. I have a (homemade) airseat on my unicycle and it is still uncomfortable at times. In the first few hours of learning my biggest problem was bruises on the inside of my thighs from squeezing onto the seat for dear life. As you spend more time in the saddle and your posture (and confidence) improves you will feel less overt discomfort. I believe that, no matter how experienced you are, no matter how comfortable your seat is, you still need to take comfort breaks every now and again.

Jayne

thanks! I’ll check out the Holm seat.

Do you care to divulge any details about how you made you airseat? I’d be very interested, as my dad is handy with making things. Feel free to PM me.

Bonnie

airseats are cool but you need a good seat to make a good one eg the miyata but that costs more then a kh the link was wrong it’s www.unicycle.com. i recormend a good pair of ride shorts(bike shorts) i can ride with out them!
Ben

I agree that you don’t want to be messing around trying to work with many of the cheaper seats with glued on covers that are common today.

But i’ve found the old style seats of the butterfingers/boggle type, which have a cover held on just by the seat bolts are good for making a good simple airseat.
Simply remove the cover, rip out all the foam, get a 20" inner tube, shape it with cellotape, drill a valve hole in the back part of the seat plate, then replace the cover.