Turning tips

I’m a newbie who can ride 50m pretty consistently (1 out of ~3 tries) in a straight line. I’d like to be able to practice laps around an inline hockey rink but the toughest thing right now is the 90 degree turn. The area has the space to round the turns so it doesn’t need to be a stop and pivot turn on a dime, but still tough for where I’m at skill wise.

If I try to lean into it, it’s seems to throw me too off balance. I can slow down and pivot a little, but not yet 90 degrees yet.

Any tips / things to practice / think about while trying to do these turns?

You might try riding big lazy "S"s some place where you have lots of room to either side. I found it better to do it freeform rather than trying to ride around obstacles or markers, making the turns as deep and round as I could instead of just enough to barely clear some mark.

The main thing: Don’t slow down! If you start feeling unsteady, widen out the turn but keep the pedals going. If you try to slow down to make a tight turn, you’ll UPD every time. And while the goal is to make nice round smooth curves, it’s ok to make stop signs with quick scrubby corners connected by straights for a while until you can.

To piggyback on what LargeEddie said.

I would try to learn controlled fluid turns rather than sharp turns. It seems like a lot of beginners (myself included at the time) turn by twisting the hips. If you look in the direction you wish to turn you will naturally introduce a subtle hip twist that will turn you more effectively than the abrupt hip snap (which also wears a spot on your tires pretty quickly).

If you are in an inline hockey rink try tracing the faceoff circle in either direction, and then maybe riding a figure 8 between two end zone face off circles.

+1