Truing a wheel after 2 days?

I’ve just got a Nimbus Trials unicycle (which moments) and have ridden it for two days.

Max drops I have taken it off are about 1.2 metres and max jump up is 50-60 CM.

But today, I found my wheel is badly out of true. It makes a single clicking sound each time it spins around.

This is my first time on a trials unicycle.

Am I riding it too hard?

I checked the spokes the first time I got it and they all seemed pretty tight.

Should I have tentioned them more?

How much slack should I have? Should I be able to move them very slightly?

Btw, I used search and couldn’t find a thread that helped me :smiley:

Thanks for any help! This is kinda bothering me to be honest. :stuck_out_tongue:

It isn’t normal; it indicates a bad wheel build.

corbin

Where are you from? It is not uncommon for UDC US to ship out wheel builds that are on the loose end of the spectrum.

I’m from Leicester, England.

Bought it from Unicycle.com.

Can anyone recommend any good tutorials for wheel truing?

I’m looking around. But I’m still not 100% on what I need to do. :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks for the help! Really appreciate it.

This is what most of us have used. Great for building wheels as well.

EDIT: something that works good for unicycles is to keep the wheel in the frame and attach a zip tie to each frame leg. Cut the extra slack of each zip tie and spin them so that the amount sticking out is just a mm or so off the rim. Spin the wheel and where the zip tie touches is where you need to loosen spokes, which means you will tighten the spokes on the opposite side. This is the best way to turn you uni into a truing stand.