Transition to side ride?

What exactly is the best (easiest) way to do the transition to side ride? In the videos I have watched, the most common method seems to be to ride seat on side, then jump one foot over the wheel and switch feet. The other methods I have seen are from crank idle (Ryan Woessner and Amy Shields) from stand-up hopping (Simon Wells) and from cross-footed hopping. (unidentified Japanese rider)

I’m not very good at side ride yet, my best attempt being eight cycles of the wheel, but I think working on the transitions would be a good way to improve my side riding. Yesterday, I worked on the transition from side ride to hopping standing on the wheel, and I got it once after about fifteen minutes, so that part must not be too hard. It’s the transition to side ride that really worrries me. I have tried the seat on side method, but since I ride a 24" wheel, it’s very hard to jump my right foot over the wheel at all, let alone switch feet on the left pedal. I would try the crank idle method, but that would mean learning crank idle on the left, which would take a long time. (I can already do it on the right.) I’m very bad at stand-up hopping, and I don’t think cross-footed hopping would be possible with a 24" wheel, so I’m considering trying it from normal hopping on the wheel. I spent a little time working on this a few weeks ago, and found it was fairly easy to get my right foot on the left pedal, but I didn’t get beyond there. Could someone please give me advice on how to get into side ride, either from hopping on the wheel, or any other way? I find detailed descriptions very helpful.

thanks in advance,
Jonathan