Training to Unicyle (again)

Hey everyone:

So I was big into unicycling a few years back while I was in college. I started learning on a cheap $50 one from amazon (Avena, I think? IDK), but worked my way up to a 24 inch Torker and finally a 36 inch coker big one v2, and I had a blast the whole way through…

Unfortunately a couple years ago I broke my ankle and dislocated my knee in an accident (not unicycling related)…and since then I’ve gained a bunch of weight and never really lost it again, and I haven’t been on any of my unicycles in over 2 years.

I understand that because of the nature of my knee injury and my weight, it would be dangerous to just hop back on (I remember falling quite a bit while learning), so some training / conditioning / weight loss has to happen before I give it another go. I’ve started walking 3 miles a day and it’s starting to not hurt the next day so I’d say that’s progress :stuck_out_tongue:

But I guess my question is, aside from walking, what other exercises would you recommend to start building up the strength to learn again? Would regular cycling / exercise biking be a good place to start?

My Birthday just passed this last march, and my goal is to be back on the wheel by my next birthday. Any help would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

I’m not a knee doctor, but I think if you can walk three miles, you can ride a unicycle. Put on all the pads you can find, and give it a try. Sure, a stationary bike would get the joints moving without the risk of falling, so that’s a reasonable “warm-up” plan if riding the uni makes you nervous.
On a less serious note, I recommend buying a five pound fork and spoon, so you can work out while you eat.
Good luck with riding again!