Total beginner

Absolute beginner with a cheap crappy unicycle. Having trouble learning after just a few hours (I know it’s going to take longer than that). I ride bicycles a lot, but not sure how good my balance is. Is there anyone who just can’t learn to unicycle?

You will get there. Be patient.
What kind of learning arrangements are you using?

Many start out with the seat too low and that makes balance harder.

After riding for years on a unicycle with decent bearings, I tried a unicycle a friend had been given. The cheap unicycle merely had metal brackets where the cranks rotated. It was very hard for me to ride that unicycle.

Crappy, beat-up, ugly, etc will not effect your ability to learn to ride. Bent cranks, no bearings, loose parts… those could be a problem.

Perseverance is the most important factor though. Hang in there!

Thanks, I just put the seat up higher yesterday and that made things better. Unfortunately it is now as high as it will go and I think could do with a touch more. I’m just trying to get the hang of it while using a fence as support.

I’ll need to buy a better and larger unicycle, but I want to make sure I’m not going to give up in disgust first :).

Thanks, the unicycle is basically sound, just cheap and maybe a touch too small for me. Hopefully it will last long enough to find out if I can learn to ride.

You haven’t mentioned the wheel size. If it’s 20", then that’s the size most people learn on. If it’s smaller than that, it’s too small.

Assuming it’s a 20" (or larger), hang in there and keep at it. Here is the unicyclists mantra: “Hours in the saddle.” That’s what it’s all about. The more hours you spend in the saddle, the more you will learn, adjust, adapt, internalize, and pretty much everything else. Eventually you will be surprised at how far you’re going, and how much fun you’re having.

Cheers!