Torker DX question

Hey everyone, I’ve been lurking for a while, but this is my first post.

I’ve been riding for about 3 months now and just folded the rim in half on my 24" Torker CX (I know, I know. It was just a starter to decide if this was something I would stick with or not). I need to replace my setup with something more suitable for my weight(190 and losing, I was 210 when I started on one wheel).

I can’t afford the KH24 so my plan was to buy a KH24 wheelset and put it on a Yuni frame. Unfortunately unicycle.com doesn’t have enough KH24’s to split one up like this. so…

I am now thinking about buying a 24" Torker DX with the splined hub/cranks and taking the wheelset off of it, slapping on a 24x3.0 tire and putting it on a Yuni frame. I haven’t found much info as to the durability of this wheelset. Anyone have experience they would like to share, or know anything about the rim that’s included on the DX? The product description on the Torker site just says “Alex Alloy black with polished sides (48 spoke)”. If the rim isn’t so great, how much is that offset by the fact that it is a 48 spoke? Does the higher spoke count make a substantially stronger wheel?

I do a lot of hopping up/down stairs, curbs, and other things less that 2 feet. I also ride off-road fairly often, but no big drops.

Any info that anyone can offer would really help me out.

-Jerad

Why don’t you consider the Nimbus 24 muni. Really good frame. KH (Velo) seat. Comes with a 24X3 tire. Less than $200.00 and if you need, or want to, down the road, you can upgrade the hub to a splined hub. Until you upgrade, you have a very good Muni with 24X3 tire.

If you’re killing wheels, you’re right to consider something with a splined hub, you’ll probably progress to being the sort of person who breaks square taper cranks quite quickly. The nimbus is a good muni, but not designed for riding really hard.

Joe