Torker 20" or Nimbus 20"

Folks, I have the option of acquiring a used Torker 20" for $75 total or a used Nimbus 20" (with Torker cranks) for $199.

Which is the better buy?

I am not sure which models they are, just know the make and tire size. The Torker is a street model, with smoother tire, and the Nimbus has the knobbier tires.

Thanks!!

You don’t say what model Torker it is. Is it a CX, LX, or DX?

Have you explored the UDC (Nimbus) website to see what is offered, and the prices? I recommend doing that.

Are you a beginner or do you already know how to ride? If you’re new at this, and don’t know if you are going to like it or not, I usually advise people to by a cheap uni to learn on first. Then, if they like it, they can purchase a good one that fits their riding goals. (Tricks, muni, road riding, etc. These activities all have specific unicycles that do the job best.)

Good luck!

The listings don’t say anything about the models, just the brand and tire size.

I am a beginner, no unicycle experience whatsoever. There are cheap unicycles near me on CL, but they are, I believe, cheaper Chinese brands… Sun, Zephyr, and Savage brand. There was a Torker for $40 but it sold yesterday.

I’ve found some vintage older ones near me, but not sure how good they are for beginners. My fixed gear bike is custom, refinished 60s Falcon that works well, so wondering if the older uni would work too.

Contact the Torker seller and ask what model it is. Pass if it’s a CX. Go for it if it’s an LX. (Not likely to be a DX, but that would be a good one – that’s Torker’s muni offering, and is heavy-duty. And heavy.)
Suns are good unis, btw. So are Schwinns of any vintage (although seatpost height adjustment is limited).

Good luck! :slight_smile:

What about Columbia or Sears brand (vintage)?