Tire question

I am a newbie, please be gentle with me…

Is a smooth tire easier to ride than a treaded tire?

I have an origional 20" Schwinn and I am riding in my concrete driveway and the asphalt street. (pretty smooth surfaces )

my origional tire is getting fairly worn out, so I wish to order a MAXXIS hookworm 20 x 1.95"

the origional Schwinn tire is near the bottom of the page & the hookworm is near the middle of the page.

http://www.unicycle.com/shopping/shopdisplayproducts.asp?id=2&subcat=33&cat=Tires+-+Freestyle+(20-inch)&L2=Tires%2C+Tubes%2C+Rim+Strips+and+Valve+Caps&L3=Tires+-+Freestyle+(20-inch)

Harry

Knobby treads on pavement is not too pleasant. The smooth road tire will suit you better for that kind of surface. I didn’t think that the Hookworm had very aggressive tread and would probably be OK on pavement, just not as good.

Harper,
When you said “just not as good”, just not as good as what?

Do you think a “street slick” would be best? ( available in a 20 x 2.10 size)
I wonder if a wider tire is an advantage ? (origional is a 20 x 1.75 size)

Harry

Harry,

I just got a Nimbus X which comes with a Hookworm tire. I wasn’t sure about the Hookworm from the photos, I was afraid it might not be good for pavement. I was wrong…it is dreamysmooth, a new word I think.

Just so you know, my only other experience with uni tires was with a Miyata about 20 years ago. As I remember the tread on it wasn’t too different from the Schwinn. It was smooth, but my memory isn’t sharp enough to know if it was dreamysmooth.

Just putting in a vote for the Hookworm, I know my experience is limited and our unis aren’t the same. Its tread isn’t at all knobby. I may be able to get a better photo of the tread if you’d like. Let us know what you go with and what you think of the results.

Kurt

Are you sure the Hookworm will fit the Schwinn wheel?

Kurt

Hookworm is a 1.95" tire.
Origional tire is 1.75"
Is that enough to matter?
Why wouldn’t it fit my wheel?

Harry

Harry,