tire pressure

Just wondering how you determine what tire pressure to use on your uni. I mainly street ride and run into small bumps/road surprises. Do you vary your tire pressure a lot?

If the tire feels to squishy, I add some air. If it needs to be squishier, I let some air out.

Higher tire pressure helps with idling. In order to stay on the uni while idling, I have to be able to pivot left and right while going forward and backward (I am still a novice idler). Low tire pressure adds friction while idling, making it harder to pivot.

High tire pressure makes everything more twitchy, due to the decrease in surface area of the tire which is touching the ground. Learning to control twitchiness means, I think, that we are controlling the unicycle.

I don’t have much experience riding on rough pavement at significant speed. It sounds like lowering tire pressure from the maximum…may have some safety advantage. I went for a long ride on my Muni with a street tire which was under lower pressure. I felt like the Muni was bobbing up and down, which was unpleasant.

For beginners learning to self-mount, lower tire pressure might help stabilize the uni during mounting. It’s nice to lower the tire pressure when learning to jump onto and off curbs. As skills progress, increasing tire pressure is practical for a larger repertoire of techniques.

Some of the videos of street riders show the tires flattening out during take-offs and landings. Their tire pressure may be higher than some may assume; they are placing serious pressure on their tires.

The following are generalizations regarding the progression from beginner to advanced unicyclist, based on many posts I’ve read on the forum.

1. Crank length decreases.
  2. Seat height increases.
  3. Tire pressure increases.

This pretty much.