Tire for a beginner - "save" Kendra for later?

People say you only start to appreciate a good tire when you get better. So does it make sense to put on a cheap tire for a beginner and use that up? If so, just “any” tire from the nearest store?

I’m a beginner and am just starting to ride “longer” distances (2-4 km?) with my 24"; I’m still learning to do turns, etc. I ride mainly on asphalt, else on very well-kept dirt roads, very little gravel interspersed. My unicycle has a Kendra tire, with a profile that looks like a Kendra K-Rad. Is it worth (financially) “saving” that for later?

I searched the forum, but haven’t found an answer. Thanks for your help.

You may only appreciate when you get better but a good tire is going to be good no matter if you notice or not.

This is how i see it… you still can find replacements at a non radical price. So go ahead, ride the heck outtevit! And if it wears down to the point of baldness then, you know how far you have advanced already…you have then earned yourself a replacement or an upgrade.

Exactly how i viewed my duro wildife leopard 3.0…still working on wearing it down!!!..darn thing’s a beast!!!:D:D

The K-Rad is a popular urban tire, and won’t be going away anytime soon. I would just ride it until it is dead, and get another one. I have seen that tire in a couple of different versions. A heavy cheap version, and a light expensive one. The cheap one is fine, but it is really heavy from my memory.

Some tyres just don’t work very well on a uni. I once tried a Maxxis Ringworm and I could barely stay on. It just had no stability. I think it is because the blocks of tread are interleaved across the centreline of the tyre.

The Maxxis Hookworm is a good hard wearing tyre with a round profile. I have one on my 20 inch QU-AX and it has not even worn the hatched surface pattern off even though it has done way more distance than the original QU-AX tyre which wore right through to the canvas in no time.