tips on learning to go backwards

Im trying to learn how to go backwards and ive tried using trash cans and poles to get balanced and settled then rolling backwards, but I usually never get more than 2 or 3 rotations. Anytips on how to get more rotations in? And ive heard cranks get stripped in going backwards; I have whatever cranks that come with the 2010 torker dx model, so should I do anything to prevent them getting stripped when learning?

If you don’t know how to idle, I recommend learning that before continuing, as it will put you more in control when you start a backwards journey than if you just push yourself backward off a wall or whatever. If you’re already getting 2 or 3 revolutions, though, maybe your method is OK.

The Torker DX has CrMo cranks, which I have never tried before, so I don’t know what they are like for riding backwards. Cheap soft steel cranks are the best for riding backwards, in my experience, but they are not available in ISIS form, and anyway there are lots of other threads on this topic. If you take the time to turn your seat around before your backward riding session, you will never have a problem with your cranks. That’s what I do now, though of course you have to remember to turn your seat forward again when you go back to forward riding. I’ve read that you can also use a thread locker such as Loc-Tite or boiled linseed oil to keep your pedals screwed on tight, but that’s something else I haven’t tried.

1.) Find a long, flat surface free of bumps that you know is clear. Just like riding forward, look into the distance, not at the wheel. When learning, don’t look behind you…that’s why you’re on that long, flat surface that you know is clear.

2.) Use the search function.

My advice is make sure to put your weight in the saddle and practice super idling. For more information read this thread.