Tips on big drops?

Hello.

I’ve been riding unicycle’s for about 15 years now, and had not tried any tricks etc till about a month ago, when I rode along a 3ft wall with a slope off it. I thought that was quite fun, so have since gone to hopping up walls, hopping off them, 180-ing off walls, and riding 1 footed along walls.

I now find big drops quite appealing, so I am building up a trials unicycle. I was teaching kids unicycling at the local youth centre, about a week ago, and there was a 5.5ft mini ramp in there, so I had a go at droppin in on it, which went well. When up on the top of the ramp I thought it’d be fun to hop off the edge of it, so I did. It was fun, I didn’t land it, and I only got two attempts at it as I twisted my cranks on the second attempt.

Any tips for landing big drops, lol, other than practise?

Cheers.

you must do it SEAT OUT

When you land, try to immediately roll out of it. You don’t want to land and just stop dead. This is why drops with a small downhill at the landing are usually easier.

Try to absorb the impact with your legs, and then bend at the waste to spread the impact out through all of your body, in.stead of being concentrated at one spot…

I completely disagree. I would never do anything over about 5 feet or so seat out. I’ve done about 7 feet seat in.

Seat out is too unstable for me with impacts like that. Especially for someone who may not be as good at SIF trials techniques, like Fraggle may be.

anks for drops

I’ve been wondering what the limit for different types of cranks are (e.g. freestyle, MUni, trials). in other words, how big can I go before I need to shell out the cash for new cranks?

i second the motion.

Which cranks do you have?

Pretty much anything that’s splined should hold up to most any drops. Square taper hub/cranks are much, much easier to damage. I’d say anything higher then about… 4 feet could easily kill square taper cranks.