Tips for Commuting

I’ve been riding for 11 months now, and I’m ready to occasionally trade in my bike commute for a unicycle commute. For the seasoned commuters out there, is there any advice or warning before I give this a go?

I’m gonna take my 27.5er and ride exclusively on multi-use pathways. So I’ll have to navigate thru bumpy asphalt, pedestrians, and cyclists. I think I’m ready now because I can actually turn my head and shoulder check while riding straight, which is a must have skill while cycling, and one I’ve become comfortable doing on the unicycle recently.

1 Like

That’s great. I say go for it :slight_smile:

1 Like

Spare shirt and some deodorant.
Maybe more if the weather is ugly.
All in a small pack with 3 allen keys and a mini pump.

I’m also a believer in flashing lights on the rear, 2 lights up front, and my helmet.

5 Likes

I’d say just bring a few tools and patches in a saddle bag or something as commuting probably means you’re gonna be a ways away from home if something loosens up or breaks. On the other hand, if you have had the uni a while and trust it just go for it, that has served me well plenty of times before.

1 Like

I’m a big proponent of route familiarization. It might not relate to this commute but can always be useful at later dates for other commutes (grocery, liquor store, smoothie shop). By this is mean think of the major issues the route could pose vs another route. For instance:
-major intersections
-lack of bike path
-how busy is the road
-how many traffic lights one way vs another. How long are those traffic lights normally? Are you approaching from a direction with a favorable light length to avoid having to stop and start a bunch? Is there anything I can hold onto while stopped at light?