Tips for beginning riders

Hello,

I’m new to this fourm and I got my new Nimbus 24" Muni three weeks ago. I wanted to learn how to unicycle for awhile now. So I finally got one from Unicycle.com. Now that I been learning for the last 3 weeks in my free time, I just had some questions about learning to ride. I would also appreciate some additional tips for beginning riders.

-What am I doing that I’m getting bruised from the frame on the right side of my leg?

-What am I doing that I’m dismounting from the back most of the time?

-What is a rule of thumb for setting the seat post height?

Hi!

1. Where on your leg? It could be from how you’re mounting. If you have your right foot down on the pedal the frame might be bumping your inner right knee as you bring your left foot onto the pedal. Or vise versa.
  2. You’re leaning back. Are you purposely dismounting or do you mean that every time you fall you’re falling backwards? If you’re falling backwards every time, try shifting forward so that you fall forward every now and then. Your body will eventually find the middle ground of balance. But dismounting purposely from the back isn’t a bad thing.
  3. Knee slightly bent on the downward stroke. Or, whatever feels right. The knee slightly bent thing seems to work for most.

Welcome aboard! I’ve been learning on a Muni 24 the past few months. Here are a few things that have helped me.

Seat height: For riding around your driveway and learning to free mount, I found lower is better. However if you want to ride any distance, I raise it back up or I find my legs get sore faster and I can’t pedal as fast.

Tires: I started out with low psi in the Duro Leopard and found it was difficult to learn to turn and control on pavement. I increased the psi closer to the max and that helped some. I switched to a Maxxis Hookworm and that made a huge difference. It transformed my Muni into a street machine. I’ll put the knobby back on once my skills get better.

Hope these help.