Tips and Tricks to help with MUnicycling

I am a keen municyclist, and without being cocky i am pretty good, and i would like to know some tricks that would make riding over really tough terrain easier.
cheers:)

Kind of hard to be helpful if we don’t know what kind of help you need. Please describe the trails you ride, and the types of things you have problems with.

Practice… And remember, if yer not falling, the terrain is too easy :wink:

I am fairly new to muni, but I’ve been riding about 1 hour, 5-6days per week. The trails that I ride are a mix of downhill and pretty steep uphill stuff, so it is good endurance training. I used to be a runner, and considered myself pretty fit-but I was quickly humbled after my first muni ride! Downhill, no matter how technical, is easy compared to riding up 30+ degree hills over and over! (well, “easy” it’s not) Taking the advice of more experienced muni-ers, I reduced my tire pressure in my 2.6 (soon to be a duro 3.0) from about 32 lbs., down to about 18 lbs, and WOW! What a difference in rolling over obstacles and hopping! Also seemed to reduce saddle soreness. Makes sense, no? NExt thing on my agenda: Brakes! But which kind??? Should I get Hydraulic? :thinking:

okay, so in australian measurments, which is Psi, how much pressure would 18 lbs be?

If you get really good and comfortable with rolling hops you can use small rolling hops to significantly smooth out the trail. For example you can use a slight rolling hop to take the edge off of a root or similar bump in the trail. You don’t have to jump high enough and far enough to clear the root, just enough that you lighten the load so you sort of flow over it or just enough that you land on top of it (or skim it) while still moving forward and still rolling.

Kris demonstrated that technique when I asked him how he rides so fast and smoothly. I ride the trail like a tractor while Kris speeds along floating above it all.