The next best skill to practice over winter

I’ve been riding for six months, 24" UDC Club, mainly on curbed streets and sidewalks or big parking complexes. Very comfortable riding forward, turning, dismounting, hills that aren’t too steep. Because there are curbs everywhere, the curb mount is my #1 mount. I am working on free mounting. With winter coming, and we can get a lot of icy roads here, I’m wondering what is the skill(s) that I can work on inside that will most help me be a better overall unicyclist when spring returns. I’m old so no muni or big jumps on the horizon but I’d like to be super comfortable riding around town. I’m thinking idling might be a skill that would make it easier to improve overall. I feel I should at least be able to ride backwards for short distances, like to avoid children. Does this make sense to make idling my first priority after free mount? Or said another way, what’s the best way to improve over winter?

I use winter for weight training so overall fitness shouldn’t suffer too much… Thanks.

After a constant free mount I would suggest hopping. Hopping in place, turns/pivots, up low curbs and even a hop or two during free mounts can be most useful.

I agree with Jim, hopping is probably the most practical next skill after a freemount. Possibly also the easiest.
Idling isn’t all that “practical”, but still a good skill to learn to improve your overall control. Same with riding backwards. Barely anyone will actually idle at a streetlight, but while learning to idle, you will learn a lot about keeping balance at low speeds and tricky situations.
I’d say idling/backwards/hopping can all be practiced at the same time. I personally avoid practicing the same trick for more then 20 minutes at a time. When I am serious about practicing new tricks, I have 2 or 3 different ones I practice in a 90 minute training session.

1 Like

I’ll second hopping but I’m not sure doing it a lot on a Club is the way to go.