The "Core"

I been watching a lot of Uni videos online along with additional reading about unicycling, and I keep hearing the term “core” mentioned. I’ll read/hear that unicycling has strengthened their core.

I’m relatively new to unicycling (a few months), but am already starting the feel the affects. All the muscles in my legs are sore (lactic acid) the next day and I can feel muscles in my back, etc. being used that haven’t been in a while.
I know this will be good for me physically…but I’m wondering what I can expect after 6 months and what it will mean that I’ve strengthened my core.

I’m curious about any anecdotal evidence on how one’s health has improved.

I do understand that it depends on what I do. In my particular example, I practice about an hour day, being mindful to keep my heart rate up. I like that I’m getting a cardiovascular workout in addition to learning how to ride.

Thanks for any input.

It’s a marketing term for the fitness industry when they try to talk about the muscles in their torso.

My understanding of the core is all the muscles from above the knees to below the sternum. You quads, hams, glutes, hip-flexors, abs, obliques, and lower and mid back.

I have been riding for a year, though I am no where near an average of an hour per day! My legs are pretty strong because I have been running and riding a roadie for many years. The back muscles are the ones that I feel the most. Because my left leg is dominant I am still working to balance my pedal force so that the uni doesn’t twist to the left. This causes me to compensate by twisting my torso to the right, which is primarily done by the back muscles. I am getting better, but I still fight the twist and need to continue to focus on a balanced pedal push by both legs. Most often it is my back that gets tired the fastest unless I am doing muni with a lot of hills then it is the quads.