Sun Flat Top Extreme DX 24"

Hello,

I’m new to unicycling, but not cycling in general. I’ve an avid road cyclist and have done bike tours over the past 2 decades.

Just looking to branch out a bit and have some fun on one wheel now!

There is a local craigslist post here in Anchorage for a Sun Flat Top Extreme 24" it looks like a pretty decent unicycle, has an isis spindle hub and alloy cranks. Here is the manufactures link if anyone’s interested:

http://www.sun.bike/product_detail.php?cl2=UNICYCLES&cl3=FLAT+TOP+EXTREME+DX

Anyway, I was hoping to also do a bit of winter unicycling up here in AK. this sun comes with a 2.125 width tire, but it looks like it could fit something wider. Has anyone used one of these with a 3" tire?

Thanks, this forum is a wealth of information!!

Sun’s are decent unicycles. The steel frame will be a bit heavy, but still very rideable. I know people who are happy with them. Hard to say how big a tire will fit, go take a look at it, and measure the frame to see. You can still ride it with the stock tire. (The current 3" tires don’t actually measure 3", btw, they’re more like 2.7".)

Thanks for the input, I am going to have a look at it after work today. I’ll have to bring my calipers to see what it might fit.

Is there really that much of difference in going to an aluminum frame from steel? The Sun Extreme DX is made from 4130 Chromoly, Would I be better off putting more cash up front.

He’s asking $140 on Craigslist, I can probably talk him down a bit. Says it’s practically brand new, just never got around to riding it. Lists for $185 on the Sun website.

Thanks again!!