Summer shoes

Need help choosing summer shoes…
Background story:
I’m a beginner. I’ve tried to learn on a 20". Than I bought a fixed geared 26" Huny-rex and I found that my biggest problem is about how to apply enough torque to get it moving… when it starts rolling it goes without too much problems.

I realized I can freemount and start only using a pair of old shoes I own… So the problem is the grip on pedals.

So now I need summer shoes for hot uni days (my old pair are usefull for autumn/winter!)…

Five ten impact low (could find used with a good price)/ other 5.10 for summer or just any kind of hot days’ shoes with a similar sole pattern (not that sticky) like these maybe: https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B0129TI3Q2/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=AN11I9Z7CEKTG&th=1&psc=1?

Welcome to the forum. You can buy a pair of new pedals with plastic or metal pins … for cheaper than a new pair of shoes. If you are a relative beginner, I would avoid anything with aggressive, metal, spiky pins. Too much sticking to the pedals…

5-10 Impacts are great for long distance riding, or when you’re really pushing on the pedals, such as hill climbing. I think the build quality is better on the older models. I got a pair of newer ones, and they started tearing apart more quickly than the older model.

I recently bought a pair of 5-10 Freeride. They have grippy soles, but they are a more flexible shoe, which I prefer for freestyle/trials/street riding. They are less expensive than the Impacts. I took a couple long mUni rides on them. My feet were more tired after the ride, because I needed to flex my feet more to counteract the flexibility in the soles.

There are some other threads on the forum dedicated to shoes. Try the search function. As a beginner, I had a lot of clumsy dismounts, resulting in my kicking the ground pretty hard. I appreciated having the Impacts, because they protected me, probably, from breaking a toe under those conditions.

Good luck, and keep riding!