Sudden Catastrophic Rim Failure on a Kris Holm 24

While riding my stock Kris Holm 24” at the Milwaukee Unicyclists meet in Red Arrow Park this week, the edge of the rim spontaneously separated. I initially thought that the tire bead had snapped or that the fork had failed since there was a loud “SPROING” sound and a sharp piece of metal was poking into the inside of my calf. Upon looking closer I could see that the side of Kris Holm rim had almost entirely separated from the unicycle. I am still a novice level rider and have never taken any vertical drops with it. The tire was always filled to the maximum recommended pressure and I had been riding for about 20 minutes on flat concrete beforehand.

Has anyone ever seen something like this before or know what caused it? Also, should I buy another Kris Holm rim or is there a stronger rim I should try? Unicycle.com is currently out of stock on the Kris Holm 24 inch rim. I have attached a picture of the failed rim below.

That’s a pretty old rim. It’s actually a bike rim and if you look closely at the section which is still intact you’ll see a brake wear indicator line. These rims always used to ‘peel’ like this. I’ve had it happen several times to me, although it was always when gapping stairs or something.

That’s really unusual, the current Kris Holm rim is strong, so you could get that as a replacement, but the Nimbus Dominator2 is basically bombproof. Maybe someone on here has managed to break one, but I don’t think I’ve heard of one breaking. I’m sure someone, somewhere, has managed to, but I haven’t heard of it (I also haven’t been actively looking through broken parts threads).