Steering insight

You learn things and you don’t know how you learned them, and you’re not even sure how you do them until someone asks, then you can’t show them. Been there?

I learned to steer in sudden tyre-scrubbing turns, using the down stroke of the pedal. I could turn 90 degrees easily and up to 180 degrees reasonably easily. Then I started riding distances, and winding trails, and sort of gradually learned to go round curves reasonably smoothly, rather than in a series of small tyre-scrubs. Then my mate asked me to help him learn.

A few months back we discussed countersteering in this forum. However, them more I consciously try it, the less convinced I am.

Then I was pushing my uni and I got to thinking how you steer it when you’re pushing it. You just tip it slightly, and it sort of rolls around it’s own curve. I know that’s what we’re after when we’re steering smoothly, but how do we achieve it? Or how do we teach it?

Perhaps the following is a partial answer. It seems to work, and it’s an easy way to explain to a learner:

Think of the body as hinged at the waist. If you are standing up with your legs slightly apart, you can lean your upper body about 45 degrees to one side or the other.

Now imagine you’re on a uni. If you lean your upper body to the right, Newton’s laws of physics dictate that there is an equal and opposite reaction and your legs and the uni will lean to the left.

Now you only need to lean your body a tiny bit to the right to get the uni to lean a tiny bit to the left. Then the uni starts to turn, leaning a bit more. You then try to keep your upper body more or less vertical, which means you are still bent at the waist.

So to initiate a smooth left turn, a small but distinct movement of the upper body to the right will tip the wheel to the left.

In fact, if you let your right buttock drop slightly that is enough to push the seat to the left.